Living Life on Purpose: How I Live Presentmindely

I like words; I like them quite a lot, actually. And I like them as they are. By that I mean I don’t cotton to made-up words–at least, not most of the time. But in this case, I feel compelled to craft a word of my own.

We’ve all heard the word “absentminded.” Dictionary.com defines “absentminded” this way:  so lost in thought that one does not realize what one is doing, what is happening, etc.; preoccupied to the extent of being unaware of one’s immediate surroundings.

wilson on beach 2009
My first born, on the beach at Port St. Joe, FL.

But who wants to live life that way? Not I, said the Oh Mah. (Sorry–little family joke. We are a Korean family, and Oh Mah is Korean for “mother.”) I’ve been accused of being an analyzer (I’m looking at you, little sister). And I acknowledge that a strength taken too far can be a weakness. But living an examined life, living thoughtfully and whole-heartedly, and being all there for it? I call that a potent power for purpose and joy.

A candle, a candle holder (made by my little brother in high school art class), and sea shells--an impromptu altar during some alone time with Jesus.
A candle, a candle holder (made by my little brother in high school art class), and sea shells–an impromptu altar during some alone time with Jesus.

And therein lies the need for a new word–presentmindedly. That’s my aim:  To live life presentmindedly. On purpose. As Charlotte Mason might have said, paying close attention. And as missionary of last century Jim Elliot declared, “Wherever you are, be all there! Live to the hilt every situation you believe to be the will of God.”

For me, living presentmindedly isn’t about attacking a bucket list and checking it off item by item. I prefer Ann Voskamp’s approach…to live fully right where you are.

My God-surprise one day while playing with my boys in the parking lot in front of our townhouse
My God-surprise one day while playing with my boys in the parking lot in front of our townhouse. Framed and on display in our kitchen. It reminds me of the command in Scripture to do everything in love.

Whatever you do in your life, wherever you create your life, join me. We can live presentmindedly together. Perhaps some of my ideas or plans or projects will spur you on toward love and good deeds. And maybe you can share some of your own with me–or help me take a look with fresh eyes at how I’m doing life. After all, we can all use a little encouragement to live life on purpose.

2 thoughts on “Living Life on Purpose: How I Live Presentmindely

    1. Susan, I’m honored you would want to read it. And if you ever have input as a fellow writer, please pass it along. 🙂

      Like

Leave a Reply

