Cowboy Boots, Dresses, and A Place to Shop

I got some great presents for Christmas this past year–cast iron Dutch oven, pj’s, new garbage can for the kitchen (yes, I asked for that). AND…some cowboy boots! I love them, and I love wearing them with dresses. Not so much with jeans–I have just one pair of jeans, and the legs of the jeans don’t go inside the boots so well. It will work, and has worked, but not as well as DRESSES work with my boots.

Dress, white tights, boots. Dress was also a gift.
Dress, white tights, boots. Dress was also a gift.

Mama and Daddy picked out the boots for me–they have good taste, don’t you think? The white leggings worn with this dress were actually a purchase from Transitions–a Resale Boutique, where I do some volunteer work.

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

Transitions supports a ministry called Samaritan Village, which seeks to serve women desiring freedom from sexual exploitation and trafficking. These women come to Samaritan Village to learn, grow, heal, and begin to see themselves as God sees them.

My next dress-with-boots outfit showcases a different pair of leggings–also bought at Transitions (I did a bit of shopping on my recent volunteer shift). This dress I’ve worn since I got it for Christmas about 4 years ago.

Brown dress (with funky garden theme), brown tights, boots.
Brown dress (with funky garden theme), brown tights, boots.

I once wore cream-colored tights with this dress, but brown? So. Much. Better.

My last boots-and-dress combo features a dress bought for me by a sweet friend and her sweet mama as a just-because present.

Swirly floral dress and boots. Clock necklace gift from my sis. And boots, don't forget those.
Swirly floral dress and boots. Clock necklace–gift from my sis. And boots, don’t forget those.

No tights with this dress…I don’t think it needs any.

Floral dress and boots. And proof I CAN take a photo without a hand on my hip.
Floral dress and boots. And proof I CAN take a photo without a hand on my hip.

I once had a crush on a boy in high school who didn’t like me back, and he wore cowboy boots. At the time, I thought this was a character flaw–I know, how shallow. In order to help myself get over him, I made a list of his traits that I didn’t like. “Wears cowboy boots” topped the list. I do not recommend this method for overcoming unrequited love; it can be a bit judge-y, you see.

Now I have a pair of cowboy boots myself, and I’m thrilled with them. Also, if you want to look EVEN CUTER than I do, you should use your purchasing power for good and drop by Transitions if you’re in central Florida. This shop boasts great selection and a special sale each month. And, y’all, if you love God’s earth, buy second first. And then wear it with cowboy boots.

2 thoughts on “Cowboy Boots, Dresses, and A Place to Shop

  1. i love your fashion aesthetic and your commitment to dressing frugally while still maintaining a great sense of style. I’ll definitely have to check that place out, since at least 90% of my clothes come from Thrift stores!

    Like

    1. Heather, I think you would enjoy shopping at Transitions! Much of their stuff is a cut above a typical thrift store. And THANKS for your compliments. Last May, I completed a no-spend year for myself–we should chat about that some time. 🙂

      Like

Leave a Reply

