Good Enough for Family And Company, Too

When my first born was a baby, our kitchen table–where we ate meals, where we hosted friends and extended family–could barely seat four people. When we invited another couple over for dinner, we could fit our plates and glasses–but not the dishes of food. So when I saw a used farm table for sale in 2006, I jumped at the chance to get it.

For only $50, we purchased this table. Now we could easily seat six people plus all the plates and platters necessary for a meal. We have also used this table for years now in home-schooling.

After eight years, our table needed an upgrade. The base and legs looked faded–plus, 1991 called and wanted its teal back. Time for a fresh coat of paint.

Kitchen (and school) table before the re-do.
Kitchen (and school) table before the re-do.
Table prepped for painting. Good thing we saved the plastic from some new mattresses.
Table prepped for painting. Good thing we saved the plastic wrapping from some new mattresses.

We popped into Lowe’s last Saturday and wandered over to the “oops” table, where we found a quart of cream-colored paint for $2.50.Ā Perfect.

A couple of hours later, and this is the result:

A coat of paint = a breath of fresh air.
A coat of paint = a breath of fresh air.

This was a team effort between my two sons and me. They worked hard and were full of enthusiasm. I got a little twitchy with how free they were with the paint. But how great to do real work together. They understand they are making a meaningful contribution; I learn to relax a little.

Table re-done and set for dinner. Dirty floor? Never mind--just look at the table.
Table re-done and set for dinner. Dirty floor? Never mind–just look at the table.

I once saw a recipe in a cookbook touted as being “good enough for company.” I want to make a home that is good enough for family–and good enough for company, too.

10 thoughts on “Good Enough for Family And Company, Too

  1. Love it!! Beautiful! You’ve inspired me to update our table…one we bought from my aunt 26 years ago šŸ™‚ It’s been at the center of our home ever since…and shows it!

    Like

  2. I refinished our table a few months ago. It was $20 at Goodwill, and had peeling black paint. After years of covering it with a tablecloth, I was ready to take the plunge. It took about 4 hours of sanding to get all the paint off, but with stain and cream paint on the legs, it is really lovely. (Of course, the first night we used it my son put packing tape on it and took off the finish- so one of these days I’ll have to redo the top! But it is wonderful for our family and school time.)

    Like

    1. Heather, I replied to your comment, but somehow it disappeared! I’m so glad you’ve found something you love that serves your family, your schooling, your work to nurture your family. Sounds like you got a great table! šŸ™‚

      Like

    1. Oh, Nancy~thank you! Yes, those boys of mine are growing beyond belief. I know you are making precious memories with your sweet family, too!

      Like

Leave a Reply

