Pour Out Your Heart Like Water

This year, I’ve been following the “Change Your Mind” Bible reading plan. This involves simply reading through a book of the Bible twenty times. And then moving on to another book of the Bible, and so on. I started in the New Testament and have now come to think of the books of I Thessalonians and Titus and I Peter as friends, ones with whom I can sit and talk or just sit and be silent. It’s worth listening to them.

The Bible I've had since I was 18 years old.
The Bible I’ve had since I was 18 years old.

I figured I should venture into the Old Testament as well. I had chosen obviously shorter books, so I applied that logic to picking an Old Testament book, too. Now I’m reading Lamentations. In the second or third reading, this verse jumped out at me:  Lamentations 2:19, “…pour out your heart like water in the presence of the Lord.” God started to stir up a storm of thoughts in my mind as I ruminated on that verse. From there, I wrote this:

Pour out your heart:  Empty yourself, come before the Lord recognizing your emptiness and need. Pour out your heart, and come to Him–needy. Pour out everything you’ve kept hidden, everything left secret in the dark. 

Pour out everything that is not of Him, everything that you’ve tried to use to fill yourself. Pour out everything you’ve drunk to try and slake your thirst; pour out everything that is not Living Water. Pour out your heart like water. Pour it out in the presence of the Lord, so that He can fill you.  

Emptying ourselves in order to be filled…one of the beautiful paradoxes of the faith.

Leave a Reply

