Something New Saturday: Homemade Honey-Mustard Dressing

I don’t like buying salad dressing. Apart from the not-so-necessary expense, I don’t want my family consuming many of the ingredients in store-bought dressings. Even the organic kind usually has soybean oil as a primary ingredient, and I don’t feel good about feeding that to my sons. Products derived from unfermented soy can mimic estrogen.  This may not be a concern for some people, but I’d prefer to steer clear of it all the same.

So, what’s a mama to do? Make it myself. My boys like honey-mustard dressing best, and we use it for much more than salad dressing. In fact, we ate pizza for lunch today (with a healthy smoothie on the side), and my older son dipped his pizza in the homemade dressing.

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

It’s so easy, and the boys usually make it with me–so they are learning about real-food prep and how to use kitchen items. Here’s how we do it, and I don’t actually measure.

First, the star of the show is the local, raw honey. We buy ours as part of a group (to get a good rate) at a bee farm called Webb’s. We purchase a gallon at a time and use it in a variety of ways.

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

In addition to the honey, we add yellow mustard, olive oil, balsamic vinegar (apple cider vinegar is also great), a sprinkle of garlic powder, and sometimes a dash of sea salt. I typically add fresh ground black pepper, but I broke the pepper grinder the other day. 😦

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

You can add more or less of each to taste. I put it all into a glass jar, shake, taste, and then adjust. It makes a great dressing as well as dip–and maybe it’ll work great as a marinade, too, although I’ve not done that before.

Do you have your own salad dressing or dip recipes?

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

6 thoughts on “Something New Saturday: Homemade Honey-Mustard Dressing

  1. I have not tried the dijon, Sarah, only because I buy the cheaper yellow mustard instead. 🙂 My hubs would prefer the dijon, but it may also be a bit spicy for the boys. But I think the dijon would give it more flavor! Let me know how it goes. 🙂

    Like

  2. 🙂 I do about equal parts honey and mustard. Let’s say a half cup of each…then (using those measurements) I’d probably add a tablespoon of vinegar and probably 3 tablespoons of olive oil. I’m sure you could use a different oil (although coconut oil would surely change the flavor). About a half teaspoon of garlic powder, maybe one full teaspoon if you like it. And then a little black pepper if you want. That’s all guess work but I think it’ll give you some tracks to run on.

    Like

  3. Thanks, Allison! I attempted it today (before I requested help) and added way more honey than anything else. Too much olive oil…..and I was using a mustard that has mustard seed in it (already kind of tangy/vinegary). All told, it’s tolerable to me but I KNOW my kids wouldn’t like it. I shall try again using your ratios. Found out recently that our favorite Newman’s Own light honey mustard dressing has milk protein in it. Most of the ingredients are decent (compared to other store-bought dressings), but I need a dressing with no milk! And my kids also use honey mustard on many food items!! 😉

    Like

  4. I hope the 2nd try is more to your children’s liking! Although your first attempt sounds great to me… I was allergic to milk as a child but grew out of it around age 8 or 9. I know it’s difficult to keep that out of a child’s diet.

    Like

Leave a Reply

