Easy as Pie

Our family has this pie–it’s sweet and quick and simple. And we make it once in a while, just on a whim. I first encountered the recipe in a Girl Scout cookbook when I lived back at my parents’ house between moving from the campus in north Mississippi where I worked with college students to Orlando, Florida, where I live now. I don’t even remember the name of this pie, but usually we call it yogurt pie. Or yogurt-Cool Whip pie. Or something like that.

It has only 3 ingredients…

  1. A ready-made graham cracker pie crust
  2. A container of yogurt (we usually pick strawberry, cherry, or blueberry)
  3. A bowl of Cool Whip or the like.

Mix the yogurt and Cool Whip. Put it all in the crust. Chill for an hour or so. Then, enjoy!

Over the years, my boys have discovered they can make this dessert on their own. So when we visited the grocery store this week, my younger son happened upon a pie crust. He showed it to me with bright eyes and brighter smile, and I knew what he was thinking. He and his big brother picked out the other ingredients, and he made the pie entirely by himself once we got home.

I love watching my boys stretch their wings this way, starting and finishing projects, learning the value of following through on a task. Even more, I love seeing their self-confidence grow as they amaze themselves with what they’re capable of doing. Whether it’s peeling carrots, chopping cucumbers, sweeping the floor, scrubbing the sink…Meaningful work. It’s one of the legs of the “3-legged stool” of our home school approach:  work, academics, and service.

Valentine ring

When my husband got home, our boy couldn’t wait to announce that he’d made dessert but that it would be a surprise for after supper. He was so proud of what he’d accomplished with his own hands. After he popped the pie in the fridge to chill, he asked what else he could do. So I gave him a pot of boiled potatoes to mash. Later in the week, he cracked eggs while his big brother flipped pancakes–more meaningful work to serve our family, work that lets them show off (and grow in) their skills.

 

Leave a Reply

