Bake to Share

This school year has been clarifying for me so far–and it’s only September. I’m pondering the truth that opportunities to serve and bless others abound, with no requirement to take on an official volunteer title or role.

And I found one of those opportunities to serve recently. I wanted to mention it to you all so you could get in on it, too. It provides a way to give a blessing while doing something that you might be doing anyway.

King Arthur Flour has declared October to be Bake For Good month. To participate, just pledge to bake and share with somebody in your community (I chose our church). For every pledge made, King Arthur Flour will donate a meal through Feeding America.

Once you pledge, you will receive a King Arthur coupon in an email. I have often bought their unbleached flour in the past. But even if you have no need of the coupon, this could be a fun kitchen adventure on your own or with your kids. And in the process, you get to help fight hunger.

thank-you-mom-pic

I have some blueberries in the freezer, so our Bake For Good pledge may be fulfilled in a batch of blueberry muffins next month. Or maybe something chocolate-y, like these cookies that the boys and I baked and gave to our local fire fighters once.  We shall see!

Might you plan to bake and share? I’d love to hear your ideas.

Leave a Reply

