Wear It Well Wednesday: Summer Travels + Road Trip Survival Tips

It’s been over a week since we left home, beginning our trip out to Colorado for the summer. We’ve visited with family, caught a bit of time with a friend over BBQ and ice cream (I was in her wedding; she was in mine), watched my boys play long and hard with their cousins. We also set aside a day to experience the Lynn Meadows Discovery Center in Gulfport, Mississippi…not far from my hometown.

The Lynn Meadows Discovery Center was birthed out of my aunt Carole Lynn’s desire to honor her daughter–my cousin–Lynn, who passed away as a college freshman. Aunt Carole Lynn’s labor of love produced a top-notch, hands-on destination for kids. While exploring the outdoor attractions of the Discovery Center–including some impressive tree houses–we snapped this shot of my latest Wear It Well Wednesday ensemble:

allison at lynn meadows discovery center

All of the above consists of hand-me-downs:  The peachy/coral tank came from the give-away table at Mike’s office. Both the shorts and light blue-almost lavender short-sleeved cardigan arrived in a box of cast-offs from friend and ministry supporter Vivian in Texas. I kept these 2 pieces from her for myself. This is one of the outfits I will don over and over this summer while away from home. We tried to pack minimally; nonetheless, our van is stuffed to the rafters.

Speaking of traveling and road-tripping…I like to shake up the routine from time to time, but getting our entire family to Colorado for the summer, trying to establish a sense of rooted-ness and a sense of home in an apartment that is not ours, is challenging. For over a week now, I’ve felt the limbo that comes from living out of a suitcase (or duffel bag, to be exact). So I wanted to share a few of my road trip survival tips:

colored pencil set

  1. Books. I brought the first book in the Andrew Peterson Wingfeather Saga series (On the Edge of the Dark Sea of Darkness) that I borrowed from my sister. I’ve been reading this aloud to the boys while we drive. We also downloaded several audio books in the Boxcar Children series–thanks, Hoopla!–to entertain the boys, too.
  2. Hug your children. On a normal day, I hug the boys almost hourly–especially Garfield, whose love language is probably physical touch. Apart from hugs, we also wrestle (by trying to pull each other off the bed); I give piggy back rides; sometimes Garfield even sits in my lap for school work. When they spend days playing non-stop with cousins–or we spend days riding in separate seats in our van–we rarely get our usual cuddle time/play time/wrestle time with each other. So I take advantage of moments to hug them when I can; it helps us stay connected.
  3. Floss your teeth. Nothing is “normal” when on the road, including our eating. Eating out then is more for calories than fun, and I start to feel I cannot make one more decision about where to stop for lunch. I can’t provide made-from-scratch, whole-food dishes for myself or my family when we’re in a different place from day to day, but I can take care of myself in other ways. Like flossing my teeth. I can at least do that, and it gives me a small sense of accomplishment that I’ve done something good. 
  4. Move when you can. Not only is our eating anything but normal, I’m not working out with any regularity, either. Self-care takes more discipline while traveling with family in tow–and I honestly don’t have the time for work-outs right now–but I can do something. I can walk with Garfield around a restaurant while we wait for our food. I can do some calf raises, squats, stretching in a corner of the hotel room before bed. Even a little bit of movement helps me feel healthier.
  5. Drink loads of water. Eating not-so-well and not getting enough fresh air or exercise already, I try to consume plenty of water. Especially at altitude.
  6. Make time to have solitude. It’s unrealistic to expect abundant alone time while visiting family and road-tripping cross country. That’s not really the point, after all. But if you’re an introvert, like me, you’ll probably enjoy your family more (and they will DEFINITELY enjoy you more) if you can carve out a bit of time to be alone and recharge. One night while at my sister and brother-in-law’s home, I went to bed about an hour early so I could pray, write in my journal, and reflect on some Scripture verses. I went to sleep refreshed and at peace.
  7. Elderberry syrupI buy homemade elderberry syrup crafted by a woman in the Orlando area. We take a spoonful a day as preventive medicine because elderberries are very high in anti-oxidants. I ordered a special batch from Julie, who makes this syrup using raw honey and organic elderberries, so that we’d have a little immune booster in the midst of all the junk food we’ll consume while on the road.

Hopefully, the next time I post we’ll have finished our 4 nights of hotel stays (and 7 nights with various family members) and will be settled into our summer apartment. Enjoy your Wednesday, dear readers!

Leave a Reply

